Research Advisor
Ken Goodson is the Robert Bosch Chair of the Mechanical Engineering Department and the Davies Family Provostial Professor at Stanford. He is a heat transfer specialist with interests ranging from electronics cooling to vehicle waste heat recovery. Goodson brings fundamental science to applications in heat management and energy conversion. His lab pioneered phonon free path measurements using silicon nanolayers and has highly-cited papers on diamond, carbon nanotubes, phase change memory, and two-phase microfluidics. He co-founded Cooligy, which developed heat sinks for the Apple G5 and was acquired by Emerson in 2006. Goodson's 40 PhD alumni include 17 professors at Stanford, MIT, UC Berkeley, and other schools. He is a Fellow with ASME, IEEE, APS, and AAAS. Recognition includes the Kraus Medal, the Heat Transfer Memorial Award for Science, the Kern Heat Transfer Award, the SRC Technical Excellence Award, the Thermi Award, and plenary lectures at ITHERM, InterPack, Therminic, SemiTherm and PHONONS. Goodson studied at MIT and worked with the materials group at DaimlerBenz.

Adjunct Professor Mehdi Asheghi was a founding member of this research group as a graduate student back in 1994. He completed his Ph.D. and postdoctoral studies at Stanford through research on nanoscale thermal engineering of microelectronic devices, including several highly cited papers on phonon conduction in silicon layers. He led a very well funded research program at Carnegie Mellon University (2000-2006) that focused on nanoscale thermal phenomena in semiconductor and data storage devices. At Stanford his research ranges from nanoscale memory technologies to two phase microfluidics. Dr. Asheghi is the author of more that 200 journal publications, fully-reviewed conference papers, and book chapters, and was technical program and general chairs at ITHERM 2012, 2014 and InterPACK 2015 and 2017.

Research Associates and Post-doctoral Scholars
Ramez received his B.S in Physics from the Faculty of Sciences in the Lebanese University in 2008. He then worked for two years as a research assistant in Masdar Institute of Science and Technology in Abu Dhabi, UAE. Ramez received his PhD in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering from the University of Virginia in August, 2015. His PhD. focused on size effects in the electron and phonon thermal conductivity of alloy and superlattice thin films. He is currently a postdoctoral scholar focusing on novel pump-probe measurements of thermal transport in thin films.
Chirag Kharangate is a postdoctoral scholar in the NanoHeat Laboratory and is working on the design and optimization of two-phase embedded microchannel cooling in Si and SiC substrates. Chirag got his B.Tech in Mechanical Engineering from the National Institute of Technology, Allahabad, India in 2009, followed by a Master of Science from Purdue University in 2011. He then worked as a Power Electronics Mechanical Engineer in the Advanced Engineering Group at Delphi Electronics & Safety. After two years at Delphi, he returned to Purdue to pursue his Ph.D, graduating in 2016. His research work at Purdue University involved designing thermal management technologies utilizing two-phase flow boiling for applications in future space vehicles. He has a total of 14 archival journal publications (10 as the first author).

Graduate Students
Ki Wook received his B.S in Mechanical Engineering from Seoul National University in 2006. He is currently pursuing his Ph.D in Mechanical Engineering at Stanford. Ki Wook has a strong background in various MEMS fabrication techniques, and his current research area focuses on embedded cooling for high heat flux applications.
Joe received his B.S. with honors in Electrical Engineering from Purdue University in May, 2012, and is now pursuing his M.S. and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering. His research interests include solid state energy conversion and interfacial phenomena. His current research project involves the study of heat transport across non-planar interfaces. Joe is supported by a Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC) Graduate Research Fellowship and Intel Corporation.
Heungdong received his B.S. in Mechanical Engineering and Electrical Engineering from Yonsei University, Seoul, Korea in 2015. He is now pursuing his M.S. and Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering at Stanford, and his current research interests include the areas of thermal transport phenomena through novel nanoscale structures. Heungdong is currently supported by Kwanjeong Educational Foundation Scholarship.
Srilakshmi Lingamneni (sril AT Stanford DOT edu) received her B.Tech in Mechanical Engineering from Indian Institute of Technology, Madras in 2008 and M.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Stanford University in 2010. She is currently pursuing Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering at Stanford University. Her research interests include development of various thermal interface materials for thermal management in electronic chips, with a particular focus on materials for 3D integrated chips.
Tanya received her B.S. in Mechanical Engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 2014. She is currently pursuing her M.S. and Ph.D in Mechanical Engineering at Stanford, and her current research interests include the modeling and characterization of two-phase flow in various porous media. She is the recipient of a Stanford Graduate Engineering fellowship and is currently supported by the National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship.
Woosung Park received his B.S. with honor in Mechanical Engineering from Seoul National University (2010). He is currently pursuing his M.S. and Ph.D. His research interests lie in understanding nanoscale thermal phenomena and characterizing thermal properties of novel materials. He is supported by Korean Energy Technology Evaluation and Planning.
Website: Aditya received his B.Tech in Materials and Metallurgical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur in 2011. He is currently pursuing a PhD in Materials Science and Engineering at Stanford University. His research interests lie at the intersection of nano-thermal transport & energy conversion, nano-electronics, and fundamental materials science.
Chi received her B.S. with honors in Mechanical Engineering with a focus on MEMS from Tsinghua University, Beijing, China in 2013. She is now pursuing her M.S. and Ph.D in Mechanical Engineering at Stanford. Her current research interests include the development and characterization of microporous structures for heat exchange. Chi is the recipient of a Enlight Foundation Engineering Fellowship.